Skip to main content

Government Documents: Government Maps and Charts

As a participant in the Federal Depository Library Program, NOAA Central Library offers free public access to the FDLP's basic collection and NOAA mission specific documents. These titles are valued as vital sources of information that support transparenc

NOAA Central Library's (NCL) map collection contains cartographic material published by government agencies. Most of these maps and charts are received through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) and are cataloged under the SuDoc classification system. You will find the maps in the flat file cabinets and shelf files located in the southeast corner of the library.

NOAA's National Ocean Service produces nautical charts that contain information about the nature and form of the coast, the depths of the water and general character and configuration of the sea bottom, locations of dangers to navigation, the rise and fall of the tides, locations of navigation aids, and characteristics of the earth's magnetism. To learn more about nautical charts, follow the Office of Coast Survey link below.

NCL maintains a large collection of NOAA nautical charts, both current and past editions from about 1993 when it became a Federal Depository Library. The library also recently acquired earlier editions of some Pacific and Atlantic coast nautical charts published in 1969 by one of NOAA's predecessor agences - U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey.

Nautical charts are accessed by five digit number as found in the Nautical Chart Catalog. (Exceptions to this five digit number are chart numbers 50, 411, 500, 501, 530, and 531). You can access the Nautical Chart Catalog online via the Office of Coast Survey website. Once you have the chart number you can check its availability at NCL using the catalog record for NOAA nautical charts [Nautical chart, C 55.418/7: ]. Contact the reference desk if you cannot find the chart you need. You can also view charts via the Office of Coast Survey's interactive catalog (linked below).

Dates of Latest Editions: NOS Nautical Charts & Misc. Maps is an important tool that helps identify current editions of nautical charts. Charts with edition dates prior to those listed in this publication are obsolete for use in navigation. The charts are listed by number, so you have to consult chart catalogs to identify chart titles you need.

The Historical Map and Chart Collection of the Office of Coast Survey contains over 20,000 maps and charts from the late 1700s to present day. The collection includes some of the nation's earliest nautical charts, hydrographic surveys, topographic surveys, geodetic surveys, city plans, and Civil War battle maps. The digital images of these charts and maps are available for free via the Image Catalog found through the website linked below.

These non-NOAA nautical chart products are not part of the Federal Depository Program and therefore do not have SuDoc numbers.

These charts are produced by the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (formerly National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA), formerly DMA) and were formerly distributed by NOAA.

Tactical Pilotage Charts (TPC Charts)

The Tactical Pilotage Chart supports high-speed, low-altitude radar, and visual navigation of high-performance tactical and reconnaissance aircraft from low to medium altitudes. It is designed to assist close air operations by providing visual and radar navigation information. The knowledge of map symbology becomes important to understand cultural features depicted on the chart.

The library retains select editions of TPC charts (1980-2003). NOAA no longer produces and distributes these charts. Since October 2000, responsibility has been transferred to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). For current editions, please contact the FAA's Distribution Division. Historical versions of the Tactical Pilotage Chart series may also be available via University of Texas Libraries.

Jet Navigation Charts (JNC Charts)

JNC charts are in shelf files next to the TPC charts. The primary purpose of the Jet Navigation Chart is to support high-altitude computer assisted radar navigation/bombing by strategic aircraft. Information considerations are selected to support celestial, radar, and dead reckoning navigation.
Like TPC charts, the library retains select editions of JNC charts (1998-2002).

These U.S.Geological Survey products were received through the Federal Depository Library Program.

U.S. Geological Survey Miscellaneous Reports

I 19.91:
These products are map and text products packaged in one folder (usually manila). There are several series to these products CP, GQ, HA, I and MF. These are cataloged as individual items in the catalog and are housed in shelf files in the map area of the library.

U.S. Geological Survey Topographic Quadrangles

I 19.81:
We have the 7.5 minute topographic quadrangles for the District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia, and West Virginia. They are in small flat file cabinets in alphabetical order by state in the library.

These maps and others can be found through NOAA Central Library's catalog and by physically visiting the library.

Loading ...